#15

Screen Shot 2017-05-01 at 1.39.15 PM.png
I believe absolutely that life is inherently and necessarily about adventures, starting out innocent, blundering along, and discovering things. Learning about life, for better or worse, one way or another.

Going off to college in Austin Texas was an adventure that took me out of the shelter of home to another city and an infinitely more exciting and joyful way of life. When I quit school and got married, I went on another adventure, not so joyful, to a lonely East Coast. Again my life changed completely– I gave up my life to support his.

When I got divorced, I took my life back. That was the biggest leap of faith, and the most terrifying: to set out alone into unknown territory. Then I came to California– another new state, another new time zone, and another new life.

All these adventures were great learning experiences, far beyond anything I could have imagined or ever would have planned. Some were wonderful, some were terribly painful and wounding. But I survived them, and I’m “still here to tell the tale”

I learned a lot, but I think the most valuable thing I learned was that this is the nature and function of life— to venture out beyond our beginnings, to discover. It’s why we came here at all– to have adventures, and then to share the stories.

Leave a Reply

